Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Waste - Foster the People


A very smart girlie told me one of her observations. She said ‘did you notice we do most of our living in the first half of our lives? I mean having children, travelling, getting jobs it all happens before you’re fifty years old. So what do we do with the rest of our lives?’

I think that I have a superpower. It’s horribly corny but I’ll write it anyway because I think it’s one of my more inspired thoughts. I have the super power of youth. It’s the reason for the disparity between the living that goes on during our youth compared to the rest of our lives. When we’re young then life has an infinite supply of energy. We’re speeding from activity to adventure and back again, collecting curious anecdotes as we go.

All young people are super heroes and we have to make the clichéd choice between using our powers for ‘good’ or ‘evil’, being a ‘hero’ or ‘villain’. Naturally our parents try to steer us towards the ‘hero’ direction but in every epic tale there comes a moment when Dumbledore’s no longer looking over their shoulder. Instead we have to decide for ourselves. There are the people who decide to spend their youth abandoning those morals. It may be through common crimes that come with a tangible sentence or manipulation and abuse that come with abstract consequences. Eventually they have to come down from the high. Their super power is gone, the energy left in the tank is finite and they have to question their ‘good time’.

Adults (I use the term not to define an age bracket but to define a group of people past their superhero prime) use the term ‘wasted youth’ far too often. They stare at ‘today’s generation’ with judgemental looks and warning glances. But to be completely honest those two words used in conjunction are my main fear. What if I look back in ten years time only to think to myself ‘I could’ve done so much more’? These years are meant to be the best; we can sleep in until noon without anyone hounding us about being pathetic or lazy, we can stay out all night and make it through the next day without a nap and best of all we can say all of our dreams out loud without people responding with scepticism. Really I think it’s the prospect of having regrets that I fear.

So, I’m trying to appreciate my youth. I don’t drink too much and I don’t think that a packet of cigarettes and some potato chips is really a substitute for breakfast. I want to be in good physical shape so I can keep on having wonderful heroic adventures. Hopefully I can look back on these adventures with a sense of pride one day rather than regret. I can’t keep on using the excuse of time to not live fully. One day when I’m sitting around in the retirement home playing bridge it’s going to be these stories that I’m making today, tomorrow and next week that I’ll be telling. I don’t want to have any regrets.

Oh and I've been reading 'One Day'. That book has inspired my thinking. It really is amazing.

Thursday, January 26, 2012

One girl who hates chart toppers

This summer I worked in a factory for three hundred hours with the radio playing. It served as a constant reminder of how monotonous my work could be. I know listening to music is meant to break the monotony but the person who said that obviously hasn't heard 'We Found Love' by Rhianna. Yes, I liked it the first time I heard it. Okay and the second. But when I heard it for the fifth or sixth time I started to learn the lyrics and then WHAM it hit me. There really is only one lyric. 'We found love in a hopeless place'. Yup. Granted they mix up the backing beats but other than that it's just Rhianna singing the same line sixteen times in the space of three minutes thirty seven seconds. Yeah that really makes work monotonous. Of course it didn't help that 'We found love' (yeah the fact that I've already written we found love about three times is kind of getting me annoyed..) happened to be played on average six times a day. It started to grate. It wasn't the only song that was repeated on the radio every hour or so. 'Sexy and I know it' was common as was 'The One that Got Away' and 'Good Feeling' and 'Feel so close'. I think those four songs pretty much made up 'the Edge's' entire playlist. Anyway after listening to the chart toppers for so long I think I've figured out the formula to a chart topper which I thought I'd share with you.

1. A really annoying base sound. It's got to follow a nice and simple beat as well so even the unco's can dance to it.
like this..


2. Include the word 'love' and a phrase about her/him and loving her/him/them.
3. Include a  rap dude rapping really blatantly about sex. 
like 'First date, first base; second date, second base;
Third date, you're looking at me funny, you got a hard shell but the middle’s so yummy'.
4. Have the entire song sung by a really attractive/really slutty girl like...
this girl 

<-or this girl










5. Include really scantily clad girls in the music video. Obviously 4 and 5 are to appeal to the male demographic cause the music industry doesn't think that they have ears only eyes...
6. Feature another artist. Who's preferably more famous than you are... It means that you get to do less work and all of their die hard fans will listen to your song. I'm thinking Calvin Harris?
7. Repeat the name of the song about a thousand times throughout the song so everyone knows the name of the song and so they can remember it when they have to buy it.
8. Include directions in your lyrics. Apparently people can't think of their own dance moves so have to be told to 'put their hands up' or 'move' or to 'do the wiggle dance'. 
9. To finish it all off remember to include tonnes of repetition and if possible lyrics that objectify women.

Yeah, I'm not the greatest fan of pop music. Mainly cause most of it sounds like someone hitting their head against a wall, oh no wait a second it's just that every time I listen to it I start hitting my head against the wall in frustration. Oh but the actual reason is that the radio destroys every song for me. I mean hearing a song twenty times in the space of three days will kind of do that.

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

One girl who.... bled?


As of late people have been staring at my nails with a look of disdain. You see I’m a proud advocate for incredible looking nails. They should be well shaped, even and painted with a smooth layer of nail polish that compliments ones outfit. My nails at the moment? Well let’s put it this way if I were to personify them then they’d be the crazy lady on street wearing an odd collection of clothes that she’s found with hair that hasn’t been brushed this decade. Yeah, they’re that bad.

The reason for their terrible state is all because of a block of Gouda. Yes, Gouda. I decided that I wanted to spoil myself so incredibly stupidly I decided to hack into a block of Gouda with a rather large knife. Time seemed to slow down as I saw the knife slide from the block of Gouda to my finger and then as I saw the knife dig a deep cut alongside my nail. I didn’t scream out in agony, instead I was fascinated by the amount of blood that was pouring out of my wound. Usually it stops after a moment but my finger kept on bleeding. So the fact that I almost chopped off my finger has meant that I'm now sporting a sexy sticking plaster.

Back to the present day.

I walked into National Bank to deposit a cheque. Suddenly my finger slipped and blood was gushing out of my finger. Of course me being me I continued on with my errand ‘excuse me, could I please bank a cheque?’ I asked the nearest operator. He was staring at my blood covered fingers. Obviously shocked. ‘Oh and can I please have a tissue?’ He rushed away looking a little shell shocked. I then explained that I had a cheque to cash while I pressed the tissue onto my finger and tried to clean up the blood off of my hand. He tried to make small talk while I struggled with my bleeding hand. I almost made a joke about ‘ha ha I guess most of the time people are bleeding money at the bank not bleeding blood’. Although that would have been really lame so I’m glad I didn’t do that. Instead he just grabbed my eftpos out of my wallet made the transaction and stared as I tried to sign a piece of paper and quell the bleeding. I then gathered up my bags and went to leave when he stopped me ‘would you like to take the entire box of tissues?’ I think he thought I was mad to be continuing on my way with my hand bleeding like that. Anyway I politely declined and continued walking.

The message from that. My finger didn’t hurt it just bled. So just because something looks bad it doesn’t mean that you have to take it at face value. It’s best just to not freak out.

Thursday, January 19, 2012

A firetruck at McDonalds?

I recently bought myself a rather fancy looking camera. It's called a digital SLR camera and it's become my brand new best friend, sorry human best friend. It's been inspiring me to take lots of photos and look for lots of photos to take. The issue is that as soon as I take out my camera to take an interesting photo say of a cool building then immediately people start lifting their hands to their faces or look at me like I'm a creepy stalker or tell me 'oh please don't take my photo'. It makes practicing for my future life as an amateur photographer rather difficult. I mean honestly why are people so very suspicious of a photographer? Back in the olden days I'm sure painters didn't get quite so much of a bad rep.

Anyway so today I bought one of the new McFlurries from McDonalds (terrible substitute for the good old malteaser ones...) with a friend. We were then sitting outside enjoying our McFlurries (since we're far too classy to hang out inside McDonalds during the daytime, and when we're sober) when we heard a fire alarm. Everyone rushed outside of McDonalds and we began joking to ourselves about the fact that the fire alarm went off just as we walked outside. In no time at all there was quite a crowd gathering outside of McDonalds. We continued joking 'ha ha we're the arsons just hanging out outside watching the building burn to the ground'. Then the fire trucks arrived and we stopped joking... Didn't want to be incriminating ourselves. Okay now before you wonder if anyone was hurt in the fire I have to tell you that there wasn't a fire just a false alarm. The point of this little ramble is to tell y'all that I probably should've taken photos of this experience. If there had been a fire I would've been snapping away. I mean I could've sold those to TVNZ and then I'd be famous in no time but somehow it just wasn't extraordinary enough. People kind of view photos as special. In order to waste time taking a photo then it needs to be something really incredible and unusual. Otherwise you just get weird looks. Hmm, so then I'm still on the quest for an amazing unusual photo I guess.

Oh and I'll try really hard to take a postable photo tomorrow!

Song Obsession
I heard this a while back and I can't quite figure out where...
Can you Tell - Ra Ra Riot


Sunday, January 15, 2012

One girl who bakes cupcakes

How can these not make you happy? They're little packages of perfection with velvety chocolate frosting covering the moist delicious cupcake beneath. What can I say? I love cupcakes! I remember the exact moment my cupcake addiction began. I was watching an episode of a short lived TV show called What about Brian with my mother and I saw that the main characters had decided to create a cupcake bakery. The cupcakes looked amazing. I'd never seen a cupcake before with such a wonderful cupcake to icing ratio, roughly 1:1. So late one night I decided to make myself a batch. They didn't look amazing but I discovered the deliciousness of butter cream frosting on cupcakes. From that moment on I was addicted to the awesomeness of cupcakes. I have to say that there's nothing better than seeing the pure glee on someone's face when they bite into a delicious cupcake. At first their face looks indifferent. Then their eyes open, their mouth widens and finally they let out an ecstatic 'Ohhhh my GOD.' Yeah, I like to call it a 'foodgasm'.

Plus I have to say that baking a batch of cupcakes has gotten me out of a lot of sticky situations. by that I mean they're the perfect way of saying to someone 'I'm incredibly sorry I was such an annoying jerk'. The jerkiness is immediately forgotten once they have a hunk of sugary goodness in their mouths.

The photo above is of my latest batch of wonderfully fatty cupcakes! Of course I like to experiment with my recipes so I invented the recipe below. It's for peanut butter cupcakes with real chocolate frosting aka pure heaven.

Peanut Butter Cupcakes makes 12

Cupcake
1 c caster sugar
2 eggs at room temperature
60 grams butter at room temperature
80 grams peanut butter at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence
3/4 c self raising flour or 3/4c regular flour with 3/4 tsp baking powder
6/10 c regular flour
1/3 c milk

Butter Cream frosting
150g butter at room temperature
100g icing sugar
50g Dark Chocolate about 70% (I use Whittaker's Dark Ghana)

1. Preheat oven to 180 C on fan bake
2. Beat the butter and peanut butter together for 3 minutes until the butter is substantially lighter and the mixture looks fluffy.
3. Gradually add the caster sugar and make sure to mix it well.
4. Beat the eggs in one at a time beating well (a few mins) after each addition until the mixture lightens.
5. Add the vanilla to the milk.
6. Alternate adding the flour and the milk to the butter mixture. Add it in thirds and mix until just combined. Make sure that the flour is well combined before adding the milk otherwise your mixture will be lumpy.
7. Pour the mixture into cupcake cases in a cupcake tray. Fill each case to the 3/4 mark.
8. Cook for 20 minutes. This is reasonably variable though so keep an eye on the cupcakes. If a toothpick comes out of the cupcake clean then they're ready.
9. Leave until cool.

Frosting
1. Place the chocolate in a small cup in a saucepan of boiling water. Then put the pot on low heat and wait for the chocolate to melt. Once the chocolate has melted then remove the cup from the saucepan and leave it to rest on the bench until the chocolate is luke warm.
2. Meanwhile beat the butter until light and fluffy (about 2-3 mins).
3. Gradually add the sifted icing sugar to the butter and beat well.
4. Fold the chocolate into the butter mixture. The chocolate must be reasonably cool otherwise it will melt the butter.
5. Chuck the frosting on top of the cold cupcakes.

Plus I think I should warn that these cupcakes are so delicious you'll probably end up eating a lot of them. And a lot of the icing. And you may need to go to weight watchers after a few batches.

Song Addiction
Hey Na Na - Katie Herzig


Tuesday, January 10, 2012

The humble Bandana

I got a little bit sun burnt today. By a little bit I mean my legs are bright red compared to the pasty whiteness of my stomach. But I guess if I tan it'll be all worth it? Of course I wouldn't sponsor that message since I wouldn't want all of my lovely readers (both of you) ending up with skin cancer. So I shall therefore specify that it most certainly was by accident.

I had a hard day of manual labour out doors. I had to move bricks, water blast and generally do a multitude of exhausting things. In case you were wondering; I'm not really built for manual labour. My arms are rather weak and flabby, my hands are smooth and I burn easily. Needless to say I broke a few finger nails. Although after I got through it I felt that I needed a reward for my 'manly' day of hard work so I had a MAMMOTH yogurt. That's man yogurt! It even says so on the packet since apparently lady and man yogurt are different.

Anyway the reason for my slight detour about manual labour is to tell you about my new best friend! The humble bandanna is making a resurgence! The bandanna is of course the typical worker's best friend. It quite wonderfully keeps your hair clean and your fringe out of your face. I don't think I've actually been excited about bandanna's since they started selling them at school and I realised I could get my Mum to buy me one..

So that would've been about seven years ago now. I think seven years is about enough time for something to become fashionable again. Plus as you'd know then colour blocking is very chic at the moment. Personally I love it! It's a great way to get people out of dreary blacks and greys and into something with a bit of spunk. The great companion to a colour blocked outfit is a bandanna! I must emphasise that I wouldn't wear it in the conventional way cause then people think you're part of a gang...

Instead fold it into a long wide (about 10cm) strip. Then wrap it around your head just below the hairline so it covers your ears. Bobby pin it into position and finish it with a funky messy sloppy bun. You end up with a very chic almost boho look. If you don't have a bandanna at home then you can just pop into your local fabric store and pick up 20cm width of fabric then just iron the cut edges to make it look tres chic. I love it with a really graphic fabric

I'll post a pic a little bit later (since I couldn't find one on the Internet). So for the meantime you'll have to make do with this bandanna pic. Yeah... what can I say I love the Gossip Girl Fashion!



Song Addiction


It just reminds me so much of a chilled out summer, despite the dark message... Pumped up Kicks - Foster the People


Sunday, January 8, 2012

Strawberry Shortcake *sort of

 Well I was inspired by strawberry shortcake. You see a very long time ago I had this wonderful dessert that I thought was strawberry shortcake. It was light and fluffy and creamy and wonderful. Kind of like a hybrid between a pavlova and a scone with strawberries in the middle. I've been on a hunt for the recipe ever since although with each year that passes I become more and more convinced that the amazing dessert doesn't exist and was merely a figment of my imagination.

Today I tried to make another variation. There's a shortbread base and a light cheesecake topping. I had a rather interesting day today. It involved me being asked the question 'are you Alberto's daughter?' (I rather appreciated that since I'm pretty much the pastiest person in the world and most definitely not Italian) and spending three and a half hours in Martinborough Cafes. Lucky for me today was the day that my recent hermit status ended. You see unfortunately I've been working in a shed alone lately. Or I'll be hanging out with my Granny or my parents. So I guess I'm not entirely a hermit. But it's different from hanging out with people who are your own age. Lucky for me Martinborough has become very chic of late so a friend came to visit with her family in tow.

We then spent a wonderful afternoon in Martinborough (which then led to a baking adventure as well... see below) and I became blissfully aware of how much I've turned into a country hick. It's great to hear tales from the big city. Oh goodness I think I'm turning into my Granny too. Just too much time me and her. I'm spiralling now so just read the recipe... and comment on how amazing it is. Oh and I should probably give my friend some credit too for helping me make it!


Shortbread Base
250 g. plain flour
75 g. caster sugar
175 g. unsalted butter softened at room temperature

Topping
250g whole fresh strawberries (quartered without stems)
250g Full Fat Cream Cheese
½ cup of Caster Sugar (at room temperature)
Dash of Vanilla Essence
½ c of cream
1 egg
100mL Lemon Juice
2 tbsp regular sugar

*Line a typical slice tin with non stick paper
*Preheat the oven to 170 C

*Put the flour and sugar into a bowl and rub in 175 g. of butter, clumping the dough together to make a ball.
*Press this sandy shortbread mixture into the tin and smooth it down with the back of a spoon.

*Prick with a fork and cook for five minutes, then lower the oven to 150 C and cook for a further 30-40 minutes on fan bake until pale golden and no longer doughy.

*While the shortbread is cooling prepare the topping.

*Beat the cream cheese until smooth.

*Beat in the caster sugar and vanilla essence.

*Mix in the egg until well combined.

*Beat in the cream until the mixture is light and creamy.

*Add the lemon juice. Feel free to add more or less depending on the desired tang.

*Pour and spread the topping over the cooled shortbread base.

*Press the pre cut strawberries into the cheesecake topping.

*Sprinkle 2 tablespoons of regular sugar over the topping and the strawberries.

*Cook for 5 minutes at 180 C then lower to 140 C for a further 40 minutes.

*Leave to cool before cutting.

Oh and I hope you all make and eat this delicious treat so you can gain some summer weight like me! I like to say that seasonal foods don't count...


Song Addiction of the Day
Little Secrets - Passion Pit. Another friend of mine introduced this song to me a little while back. It's really familiar to me. And for some reason it makes me think of a feel good ending to a movie but I can't think of where it was featured... 


Friday, January 6, 2012

Pwetty Bracelet

Hey, remember when I decided that for one of my new years resolutions I'd give up buying new clothes for a year? Yeah, I'm kind of regretting that now. You see I've recently discovered that bracelets are actually a really cool form of jewellery, especially when you wear lots of them. It gives them a really funky boho/tribal feel (and everyone knows that tribal is totally 'in' this season). Okay the issue that I had a few days ago when I was trying to put my look together is that I kind of only have one bracelet. I love it don't get me wrong but I can hardly use my charm bracelet to construct a funky bracelet look.

So I was forced to venture into my bedside drawers to find appropriate bracelets. My bedside drawers are kind of the place that I chuck my accessories which are in limbo between being cool and going to the next church fair. Unfortunately I could only find rather tacky plastic 'scoobie' bracelets and painfully small metal ones. I then realised that I'd be forced to make a bracelet. If I assemble all of the pieces then it's not new so I'm not breaking my new years resolution.

That very long winded tale is how this bracelet came into being. Although in the spirit of full disclosure I must admit that it's not very boho/tribal. But it is pretty...
The Pwetty Bracelet

I felt rather intelligent after I created it.

You see I used knuts and wire from 'Placemakers'. I can tell you that I got some seriously weird looks from the shop assistant when I strolled in. He then very promptly came to help me because I must have looked rather out of place as I was the only customer not wearing stubbies or a tool belt or wearing a dress for that matter.

I then got some shiny black ribbon and plastic beads from 'Spotlight'.

It took me an hour or so fiddling around with wire cutters and pliers (btw using tools like totally makes me feel bad ass) and I ended up with the finished result.

If you want to make one yourself then here are the instructions

You'll need: 20 knuts, 20cm of white beading, 1m of black satin ribbon, wire cutters, pliers and a pair of sturdy scissors.

1. Wind a piece of wire around your wrist (with enough space to easily slip it on and off as this will be the final bracelet size) twice with about 8 cm of wire to spare.

2. Thread the knuts onto the wire. Alternate between having both wires going through the knut and having only one wire (so the other wire is on the outside of the knut) going through the middle of the knut. This works well if you make use of both ends. On either side of the knut use the pliers to squeeze the wires together.

3. Weave the ribbon through the knuts aka alternating going through the middle of the knut and above the knut.

4. Wind the beads around the knuts and through every second knut. Opposite to the order with the ribbon.

5. Wind the ends of wire around part of the main bracelet part of the wire and the beading (so it's fixed) using the pliers.

6. Surround this ending with the black ribbon.

7. Tie a bow and voila you're done!

By the way I'm sorry if those instructions were rather difficult to follow. If you need help making it then feel free to comment and I can help you!

Song Addiction


We Are Young - fun. I'm kind of in love with the band 'fun.' at the moment although the fact that they were featured on 'Glee' kind of makes me like them a little bit less. Damn Glee! Although I think my disdain for 'Glee' can be saved for another day.

Thursday, January 5, 2012

WTF!!!? Who gets a cold in summer?

Yes I do have a cold. Although by definition I'm not sure if I can really have a cold. You see it's the middle of summer over here and colds are meant to happen in winter. I'm meant to be looking totally cute with a little red nose all snuggled up in my bed with the duvet up to my chin drinking a cup of lemon, honey and ginger. Meanwhile outside it's all windy/rainy/rotten weather in general. Somehow the crappy weather makes being sick like a thousand times better since you know that even the healthy people are probably all snuggled up in bed too.

Instead I'm lying on top of my bed (it's too hot to be under the covers) with a sickeningly runny nose trying to force down about a thousand different cures to the common cold because outside the cicadas are chirping and the birds are tweeting which kind of makes me want to run outside and tell them to shut up because I really can't go outside at the moment and go all Mary Poppins with them. Yes, I hate having to be inside when outside it happens to be one of the best days of the summer.

Somehow in between all of that bacteria which is now living in my very sore throat cursing (I really wish he'd just go infect someone else) I've managed to compile a list of things that make me feel better about being sick in summer.

1. It means that I don't have to worry about getting sun burnt. So I guess that means no melanoma for me (WIN) and no looking like a wannabe guidette at the beach (DOUBLE WIN!!)

2. It gives me plenty of time to sleep, so when I'm better I can be rocking it all night.

3. I get to gargle cold salt water to make me feel better....

4. ....

Okay so I really couldn't think of that many things so I guess that means you'll all feel sorry for me and will have to send lots of good vibes so I'm no longer such an oxymoron :D .... The whole weather being hot when I have a cold thing is really not working for me.

Daily Song Obsession 
Alexander - A Million Years. Oh and I think the music video is ever so cute too. So check it out!

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

The Closet of no return


Anyone who says that they don't have a closet somewhere in their house that looks like this is either lying or they've forgotten where it is. Mine happens to be my corner closet. It's an odd shape and size so you really can't go anything proper with it like store clothes in it or have it for a bedroom sound system. Instead it's used for storage.

And by storage I mean a place to put everything that I need to get off the floor in my bedroom so I can negotiate from my door to my bed in the middle of the night without causing myself any serious damage. 

Now I know that that just sounds like the lazy way to get out of tidying my room. But to be completely honest there just isn't enough room for everything. If I said that to my mother then she'd undoubtedly say something utterly useless like... 'well that means that you'll have to think about how often you use everything and then order it in order from most used to least used and throw out the stuff at the least used end.' That's a perfectly logical thing to say (although it would also take a long time and a lot of brain power) the problem is that the 'least used' things have sentimental value.

It takes me about a day to tidy my shoebox sized room because I always end up reading old school books and remembering how that Teddy Bear was from the Northland School fair. Every item has a story associated with it. I want to keep these stories so I have to keep the items as well. I guess that's where the closet comes in handy. It's a memory closet. I never have to open it. Instead I only open it when I feel like taking a walk down memory lane or when red corduroy dungarees finally come back into fashion. 

I feel it's necessary to differentiate between the closet and under the bed. So we (because I know you do it to) tend to chuck stuff in both places when we have to tidy our rooms in a hurry. The difference between the two is that you're eventually going to have to remove the stuff from under your bed so you can vacuum under there. Everything in the closet can stay there indefinitely or until it starts to smell a little bit because you realise that you left a sandwich in there. Hey, I sometimes get hungry when I clean!


Song Addiction of the Day
Katy Herzig - Lost and Found
Stumbled across this one on YouTube and I love the crescendo in the chorus.

Sunday, January 1, 2012

Expectation vs Reality


I didn't really expect to wake up on the first day of 2012 with a hunk of mud in my hair. I was imagining a weekend like this...

Instead I got a weekend like this...



I just spent the last two nights at La De Da a new years music festival. And a wicked way to welcome in the new year. Too bad they didn't count on the rain and consequently the mud. Cars had to be pushed out of the parking lot because the parking lot had literally turned into a marsh land, people in the dubstep mosh pit were in mud up to their knees so their dancing was just head bobbing and gumboots were the hottest accessory of the weekend.

I think some of the most commonly used phrases/words were 'moist', 'filthy', 'feral' and 'character building'.

Definitely not what I was expecting.

I also don't think that it's what the other eight thousand or so La De Da people expected either. Especially the girls. They wondered into the 'La De Da' grounds saw me rocking the skellerup gumboot and waterproof parker look and must have wondered 'woah someone's just leaped over the fence from their farm.' But while they cast me a judgemental look I did the same for them. They had their hair perfectly curled, makeup applied and were rocking the latest look from 'Cosmopolitan'. I just chuckled away to myself because sure enough after a few minutes in the mosh pit the shoes came off so they were looking filthier than I was. Karma ae?

Twenty twelve will definitely be a memorable New Years. Although I don't think my mother will feel quite the same way when she sees that the tent she lent me is now has a muddy tinge and has a weird smell which is a combination of insect repellent, V energy drink and salmon. Ahh memorable times at La De Da.

Today's Song Obsession
Whenever I find a song I particularly like I feel like I should share it so here you go. Enjoy it.




Oh and Happy New years everyone! Let's all hope that there's fewer natural disasters in 2012.

One Girl who wrote a blog

Why hi there! I guess you've stumbled upon this little blog that I've just started writing. I thought it would be fitting to start the new year with a blog. Call it a new years resolution of sorts.

In the spirit of full disclosure I must tell you now that I have no idea what I'm going to write about. I tend to do a lot of baking especially when I'm stressed and since this year's meant to be a hard one at University I guess you can expect me to post a reasonable amount of recipes.

I've also decided that because I like a challenge and an excuse to save money that I won't buy any new clothes for this year. Of course undies and socks are exempt otherwise that would be a little bit gross. But I'm going to spend a year expanding my wardrobe in novel ways like op shopping, sewing and perhaps stealing the odd item from my mothers wardrobe. Anyway you can expect me to do a fair bit of blogging about that.

I like pretty photos. I just got myself a shiny new camera too so I may try to take some pretty pictures and posting ones that I take on here too.

I like good music. Some of my favorites are Miike Snow, The Temper Trap, The Naked and Famous and Snow Patrol. I think 'Young Blood' by the Naked and Famous is the best song from the last ten years and I also think that when artists decide to do songs featuring other artists it's just them being lazy. So you can probably expect me to post the songs that I'm in love with from time to time. And feel free to comment back with music suggestions.

My favorite TV show happens to be an extremely awesome one by the name of Chuck. Since it's my favorite thing to quote/reference you can expect it to have a fairly dominant presence as well.

Oh and since I am a teenage girl then you can expect lots of ramblings about my many neuroses.

So that's the end of this very first post. Hope you'll enjoy reading the story of Lily Gray